Bucharest facts and other useful information

          Known for its wide, tree-lined boulevards, glorious Belle Époque buildings and a reputation for the high life (which in the 1900's earned its nickname of “Little Paris”), Bucharest is  Romania’s largest city and capital.  Here is a list of Bucharest facts and other relevant information :

Bucharest facts

- History

Bucharest was first mentioned in documents in 1459.

It became the capital of Romania in 1862

Bucharest is the 6th largest capital in the EU.

The city’s Palace of the Parliament is the second-largest building in the world.

Bucharest’s surface transit network, run by Regia Autonoma de Transport Bucuresti, is the fourth-largest in Europe.

Bucharest facts

- A crowded city?

Bucharest is the 11th largest city in Europe.

 During weekdays is a crowded city and usually during rush hours traffic jams are common in most intersections.

However,  during the weekend the city is not as crowded as many  students leave for their home towns and local inhabitants escape the city.

Parks fill with people in the weekends but  the city streets are  less congested. 

Country and

City Telephone

Codes

The Bucharest telephone code is +40 21

Romania Dialing code: +40

Electricity

The Electrical current in Bucharest is 230V.(Non Eu visitors might need adapters)

Type of Socket plug: EU

Eu plug in ro

Local time

Romania is in the Eastern European Time Zone: GMT + 2 hours.

When it is 12:00 in Bucharest it is: 11:00 in Berlin, 10:00 in London, 05:00 in New York, 20:00 in Sydney and 13:00 in Moscow.

Temperature:

Average temperature in summer: 23-35°C.

Average temperature in winter: 0-10°C below zero

Travel documents

American and Canadian citizens as well as citizens of Australia, New Zealand
and most European countries do not need an entry visa to visit Romania, for stays up to 90 (ninety) days, accumulated during a single visit - or multiple visits - within a six-month period.

However, a valid passport is required for all overseas/ non-EU visitors.

Your passport has to be valid for the entire duration of your visit (it will not expire sooner than your intended date of departure).
However, please check the expiration date on your passport carefully before traveling to Europe.

​Please consult the list of states whose citizens, holders of simple passports, are required a visa upon entry on the Romanian territory.

Administration:

President of Romania is Klaus Werner Iohannis (2015)

Mayor of Bucharest is Gabriela Firea (jun 2016)

Bucharest includes six administrative sectors and they are divided into further districts. The sectors are numbered from one to six.

Sector 1: Aviatorilor, Aviaţiei, Băneasa, Bucureştii Noi, Dămăroaia, Domenii, Dorobanţi, Gara de Nord, Griviţa, Victoriei, Floreasca, Pajura, Pipera, Primăverii, Romană

Sector 2: Colentina, Iancului, Moşilor, Obor, Pantelimon, Ştefan cel Mare, Tei, Vatra Luminoasăű

Sector 3: Balta Albă, Centrul Civic, Dristor, Dudeşti, Lipscani, Muncii, Titan, Unirii, Vitan

Sector 4: Berceni, Olteniţei, Tineretului, Văcăreşti

Sector 5: 13 Septembrie, Cotroceni, Dealul Spirii, Ferentari, Rahova

Sector 6: Crângaşi, Ghencea, Giuleşti, Drumul Taberei, Militari

Currency:  Romanian Leu :

1 leu = 100 bani

​1 EUR -  is aproximately 4.5 Lei

1 USD  is aproximately 4.32 lei 

The official ​National Bank of Romania exchange rates can be found here

The featured photo from this post  is published courtesy of Dan Mihai Balanescu

bucharest facts

No Responses

Leave a Reply

css.php